Oklahoma’s oil and gas industry is thriving — and that applies to CBD oil, too. In fact, since 2018, hemp-based CBD products have been legalized federally and statewide in the Sooner State.
Accordingly, Oklahoma residents can cultivate, sell and possess hemp-based products without the fear of prosecution. That said, marijuana-based CBD, which contains more than the legal limit of 0.3% THC, is prohibited on both the state and federal level unless you’re a licensed medical marijuana patient.
CBD Laws in Oklahoma: What You Need to Know
Is CBD oil legal in Oklahoma? Yes.
The CBD laws in Oklahoma that passed in 2018 are referred to as HB 2913, but it’s also known as the Oklahoma Agricultural Industrial Hemp Pilot Program — OAIHPP for short. This legislation legalized industrial hemp, which is defined as any cannabis plant that contains under the legal limit (0.3%) of THC. Any cannabis plant that contains more than this amount is considered marijuana.
At this time, only universities and colleges that offered plant sciences curricula could apply for a license to cultivate industrial hemp for research purposes. But that all changed in 2019 with the introduction of SB 868. It established guidelines for the Oklahoma Industrial Hemp Program, which abided by the 2018 Farm Bill.
In 2021, the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry (ODAFF) established the Oklahoma State Hemp Plan, which outlined ODAFF’s role in the regulation and production of hemp in Oklahoma. For example, it states that ODAFF has the authority to:
- Collect, maintain and provide contact information of hemp producers in the state
- Report a list of licensed producers to the USDA
- Collect hemp samples before harvest to ensure quality and legal THC potency
- Have unrestricted access to to all cannabis crops and facilities during business hours
- Obtain information regarding the plot of land where the hemp will be grown
To the last bullet point, ODAFF requires that all cultivators provide the following:
- Name and address
- Legal description of the land, which includes:
- GPS coordinates
- A map of the land
- A statement that the hemp will be used for CBD
Once acquired, licenses are valid for one year.
The plan also establishes that all licensees must be 18 years of age or older. If the government identifies industrial hemp crops that are being cultivated without a license, the plants will be destroyed.
When buying hemp products in the state of Oklahoma, there are no possession limitations to be aware of. You must be 18 years or older to purchase hemp CBD, however. Minors can only buy CBD with doctor approval.
When buying CBD, be aware that Oklahoma does not provide rules around product labels. However, you should expect to see a batch number, ingredients list, business information and product description.
Is CBD Legal in Oklahoma?
In 1833, Oklahoma banned cannabis statewide. It wasn’t until 2015 that new cannabis legislation emerged. That particular bill allowed healthcare providers to recommend hemp-based CBD oil to patients with a medical brain condition. In 2016, qualifying patients were allowed to use CBD oil in Oklahoma for stomach discomfort.
As of 2018, hemp-based CBD is legal in Oklahoma. Medical marijuana was also legalized in 2018, allowing the sale and possession of marijuana-derived CBD for qualified medical patients. In 2021, additional amendments were made to medical marijuana laws. These include but are not limited to:
- HB 2272 – Prepared by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA), this bill allows OMMA to inspect medical marijuana farms, processing facilities and dispensaries.
- HB 2022 – This bill allows out-of-state medical marijuana cardholders to purchase medical marijuana within Oklahoma.
- SB 1033– Approved in 2021, this legislation forbids caregivers from growing cannabis for more than five medical marijuana patients.
Can I Buy CBD in Oklahoma?
Yes, people over the age of 18 can legally purchase hemp-based CBD over-the-counter from CBD stores in Oklahoma, including vape stores, head shops, convenience stores, wellness centers and hemp retailers.
Marijuana-based CBD is also available to medical marijuana cardholders.
Can I Buy CBD Online?
Per federal law, CBD is legal for sale, transport and possession across state lines. Accordingly, it’s legal to buy hemp-based CBD through online retailers, like Zebra CBD.
To ensure you’re ordering a high-quality product, do your research on the brand. Ensure that they send their products to independent third-party labs for testing and analysis. Companies who abide by this practice can provide a Certificate of Analysis (COA), which you should be able to access through information on the product’s label. They may provide a scannable QR code or a numbered code to pull up the document. The COA provides important information regarding the quality of the product, such as its ingredients list, cannabinoid profile and potential contaminants.
Can I Buy CBD at a Dispensary?
People within the Oklahoma medical marijuana program can purchase marijuana-based CBD at licensed dispensaries across the state. Hemp-based CBD products are typically available in health and wellness shops.
Legal Status of CBD in Oklahoma
Is CBD legal in Oklahoma? Hemp-derived CBD products are legal in Oklahoma. Marijuana-based CBD is also legal for qualifying medical marijuana patients. The purchase of marijuana-derived CBD for recreational use, however, is prohibited under state and federal laws. That said, laws are subject to change.
Residents who plan to purchase CBD must be at least 18 years or older.
The information contained above is provided for educational and informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice. The provided information may not reflect current legal developments or information, and is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or current. We recommend checking our source(s) to see if the information or legal status have been revised since our content was published.
1. Is CBD legal in Oklahoma?
Yes, hemp-based CBD products and medical marijuana-based CBD products are legal in Oklahoma
2. How old do you have to be to buy CBD in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, you must be at least 18 years old to purchase CBD.
3. Can I sell CBD products in Oklahoma?
Yes, retailers can sell products in Oklahoma under state guidelines, as well as cultivate and process hemp plants within the state.
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry. Oklahoma State Hemp Plan. https://ag.ok.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/OK-State-Hemp-Plan-May-2021.pdf
Oklahoma Cannabis Information. Is CBD Oil Legal In Oklahoma? https://oklahomastatecannabis.org/cbd